Forum rules


Before adding a bug or feature request please check it is not already in the bug tracker or answered in the FAQ.



v42 bugs

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:27 am 
User avatar
Desintigrated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked




Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:20 am
Posts: 2081
Location: At my home in Herrlingen, Germany. Recovering from another assassination attempt.
Apocalylse Modification Test :

The plan is not being displayed as designed.
Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain
always cool and unruffled under all circumstances. - Thomas Jefferson

You can discover more about a person in an hour of play
than in a year of conversation. - Plato


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:38 am 
User avatar
Obliterated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked






Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:29 am
Posts: 1958
Location: In a Rental.
Rommel wrote:
Apocalylse Modification Test :

The plan is not being displayed as designed.

Apoc has only been vaguely poked by gavin only to keep it functional.
Till Bob returns, or it's offered to someone for repairing, it won't be
up-to-date.

edit: or.. If Bob is no longer supporting it, it's removed as a pre-packed mod.
Scorched3D Mod-Servers
Forum
Stats
Mods-Page


Last edited by Thrax on Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:43 am 
User avatar
Obliterated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked



Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:18 pm
Posts: 1517
Location: United Kingdom
Thrax wrote:
Rommel wrote:
...Till Bob returns, or it's offered to someone for repairing, it won't be
up-to-date.

rommels your man


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:51 am 
User avatar
Desintigrated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked




Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:20 am
Posts: 2081
Location: At my home in Herrlingen, Germany. Recovering from another assassination attempt.
Dear Gavin:

Hopefully you are not ignoring known problems with the Apocalypse mod and are not considering removing it from the package. Apocalypse is what sold me on Scorched 3D.

Thrax wrote:
Rommel wrote:
Apocalylse Modification Test :

The plan is not being displayed as designed.

Apoc has only been vaguely poked by gavin only to keep it functional.
Till Bob returns, or it's offered to someone for repairing, it won't be
up-to-date.

edit: or.. If Bob is no longer supporting it, it's removed as a pre-packed mod.

Certainly, I'm not suggesting that you should alter Rob's mod without his consent. However, it seems that in doing the upgrade, Rob's mod has been unintentionally altered. His plan map was very nice and it seems a shame not to display it the way he designed it.

Best wishes,

Rommel

P.S. George Bush's Press Secretary is looking for a job.
Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain
always cool and unruffled under all circumstances. - Thomas Jefferson

You can discover more about a person in an hour of play
than in a year of conversation. - Plato


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:37 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
Think of it as a snake, it just seaches for the lowest spot around the head and moves to it. If all the points are the same height then I guess it checks south first and moves there. Not really intentional but that is why.

If the head gets stuck on a spot for a while (because it is lower than all the surrounding areas) it will fill that spot until it is higher than the surrounding area and then move on.

There is a different type of napalm available now that acts more as a stream/flow but I don't think this is enabled.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 5:03 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
Try uncommenting

<!--<nosingleflow/>-->

in the accessories.xml file and see what happens.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 5:28 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
I've tweeked the code for the case where the landscape is flat and the singleflow napalm is selected. It's still a snake (single flow) but now chooses a random path when the ground is flat, looks a lot better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 1:02 am 
User avatar
Desintigrated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked




Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:20 am
Posts: 2081
Location: At my home in Herrlingen, Germany. Recovering from another assassination attempt.
Dear Gavin:

I'm still not sure sure of your intentions in regard to the napalm but I suspect that what you have now isn't exactly what you'd like to display for your final result.

Thinking that napalm weapon types should follow the ground contour, I offered a simple code change that seemed plausible as a temporary fix.

Not hearing back from you, I accepted what Thrax said when he told me that it had been fixed. My inspection of the code told me otherwise and now, having run the beta, I feel I can say with all confidence that if this isn't what you want, it hasn't been fixed.

My initial investigations indicate that in addition to the simulate addstep code issue, the elevation check function seems unable to detect two conditions:

    A gradual change in elevation as in the case of a perfectly flat landscape tilted to rise 15 degrees to the south.

    An abrupt change in elevation as in the case of a verticle wall.

The following is excerpted from the post on Map Making and Napalm Problems, perhaps you missed it.

    Quote:
    If any of this is of interest to you, or might be if it was explained a little better, let me know and I'll send additional photos of my experiments and see if I can explain myself in more detail.

    Now for the Naplam. Although the overlapping object placements are more bothersome to me in light of the crater problem I detailed earlier, the object overlap has been addressed before and I assume it is being addressed again. Not wanting to spend time on something that wouldn't be beneficial to any of us and not finding //fixme in the napalm code, it was simply irresistable.

    The simulate addstep code in the Naplam.CPP file appears to be making the napalm run due south, whether it is on a 15 degree slope rising to the south or even a single, 50 point rise (a cliff) because it always defaults to add the napalm step to the X_ , Y_-1 cooridate if all four points evaluted to the same elevation. Perhaps the problem with the elevation check is due to the tiling required to alter bump map elevations but that is only a guess at this point and it is an entirely seperate function.

    To make a more realistic effect, perhaps instead of adding all of the napalm to the southern most point (if all points are deemed the same) it could be divided such that equal portions are placed on all points adjacent to and at the same elevation as the impact point. Each succesive step could perform as currently designed except the scan would allow the napalm to expand in a radial fashion, taking into account, any dips or rises encountered along the way, while moving the approriate percentage of napalm to the proper location(s) depending on the amount of variance in the elevations of the points checked.

    It seems plausible that, by reworking the add step scanning sequence, firing napalm onto a perfectly flat map with a 15 degree slope upwards to the south, could result in a spread to the north, east and west with the majority of the flow going to the north instead of unnaturally running due south.

    If this isn't currently being addressed but sounds interesting, let me know if you'd like for me to take a stab at it. It seems like an interesting project and one that I should enjoy.

    In the alternative, perhaps changing the code from this :


    Code:
    else if (heightD < height)
       {
          // Move down
          y_ -= 1;
       }


    to this :


    Code:
    else if (heightD < height &&
          heightD < heightL &&
          heightD< heightR &&
          heightD< heightU))
       {
          // Move down
          y_ -= 1;
       }


    Would work a little better for the time being.

Best wishes,

Rommel
Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain
always cool and unruffled under all circumstances. - Thomas Jefferson

You can discover more about a person in an hour of play
than in a year of conversation. - Plato


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:10 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
As I said in my last post, before your last post, I have now fixed this :).

What code are you looking at? the new code is here :-
http://scorched3d.svn.sourceforge.net/v ... iew=markup

It looks a lot more complicated but it may actualy be faster in the general case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 6:21 pm 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
Rommel wrote:
Apocalylse Modification Test :

The plan is not being displayed as designed.


Sorry Rommel, this is due to the way the plan is now calculated. It's not really possible to add a 3rd alpha channel to the map. This may be added back at some later stage for the moment I'm afraid it will just need to stay broken :(

I'm trying to keep apoc as up to date as possible i.e. everything functioning correctly. But I won't be moving it forward anytime soon. If anyone else wants to move it forward I am sure Bob wouldn't have any objections (you'd need to ask him tho).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:44 pm 
User avatar
Desintigrated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked




Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:20 am
Posts: 2081
Location: At my home in Herrlingen, Germany. Recovering from another assassination attempt.
Hi Gavin:

Although I prefer the appearence of the 41.3 plans better (both games) I understand that some things can't be avoided. Unless someone finds something else wrong with the Apocalypse mod, I don't think you have to worry about any modifications. It plays fine.

On the napalm, I haven't looked at the code in a while. Thinking that the goal of the changes was to produce a radial spread on flat ground I wanted to let you know that the beta wasn't producing that result in my tests.

Other than these two items, everything seems to be working fine, playing locally.

Take care,

Rommel
Nothing gives one person so much advantage over another as to remain
always cool and unruffled under all circumstances. - Thomas Jefferson

You can discover more about a person in an hour of play
than in a year of conversation. - Plato


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:18 am 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
If you use the new napalm tag mentioned earlier

Quote:
Try uncommenting

<!--<nosingleflow/>-->

in the accessories.xml file and see what happens.


you will get a radial spread, well its a square because thats how it's calculated. A lot closer to what you want I imagine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:06 pm 
User avatar
Obliterated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked






Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:29 am
Posts: 1958
Location: In a Rental.
Found a minor quirk, diddn't notice it earier but did once i
started using the surround-method maps.

Chime in if you see it, i know Tank-snipe also does.

When playing, clicking any mouse button causes all shadows to flicker
on and off, as well as causing the surround area to blacken out in shadow.

While it doesn't effect game-play, it's rather distracting for we who
constantly click-n-spin.
Scorched3D Mod-Servers
Forum
Stats
Mods-Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:48 am 
User avatar
Site Admin
Not Signed Up For Stats

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4778
Location: Scotland
The flicker and shadow thing is to visualy show you where the surround is. You can turn it off in the game options.

At the moment it darkens all the non-play area, I may change this into a line around the play area instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: v42 beta bugs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:12 pm 
User avatar
Obliterated

Current Scorched3D Rank: Unranked






Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 9:29 am
Posts: 1958
Location: In a Rental.
gcamp wrote:
The flicker and shadow thing is to visualy show you where the surround is.
You can turn it off in the game options.

At the moment it darkens all the non-play area, I may change this
into a line around the play area instead.


Ah.. intentional.

It also flickers the in-field shadows at the same time. Side-effect? or hiccup.

I'll have to switch it off then. The border lines are enough for me.
Toggle : noarenamovevisibility = on/off \\ on to cancel the effect.
Scorched3D Mod-Servers
Forum
Stats
Mods-Page


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group