This topic contains 6 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Thrax 10 years, 11 months ago.

  • Author
    Posts
  • #4982

    hobbesme
    Participant

    When uninstalling Scorched3D for Windows, the unintsall process prompts the user whether to preserve or remove user data — player IDs, mods, etc.

    However, Scorched3D removes the ‘avatar’ directory & any custom player avatars the user had placed in that directory.

    I propose that the Scorched3D uninstall procedure(s) NOT remove any custom avatars from the ‘avatar’ directory.

    Although a very minor bug, every time a new version is released & I uninstall & reinstall, I always forget to copy my avatars back into the ‘avatar’ directory before joining game servers. Annoying.

    #35465

    Thrax
    Participant

    @hobbesme wrote:

    When uninstalling Scorched3D for Windows, the
    unintsall process prompts the user whether to preserve or remove
    user data — player IDs, mods, etc.

    However, Scorched3D removes the ‘avatar’ directory & any custom
    player avatars the user had placed in that directory.

    I propose that the Scorched3D uninstall procedure(s) NOT remove
    any custom avatars from the ‘avatar’ directory.

    Although a very minor bug, every time a new version is released &
    I uninstall & reinstall, I always forget to copy my avatars back into
    the ‘avatar’ directory before joining game servers. Annoying.

    It also proceeds to Delete your entire /globalmods folder as well,
    erasing any custom mods you have there. If i hadn’t recently made
    backups, i would have permananly lost merge, scorchwars and all
    my other mods.

    I do realize, this is to clean out old incompatible mods. But maybe
    an alert and yes/no for that should be added.

    #35466

    Deathstryker
    Participant

    @thrax wrote:

    I do realize, this is to clean out old incompatible mods. But maybe an alert and yes/no for that should be added.

    Good idea.

    #35467

    Thrax
    Participant

    @deathstryker wrote:

    @thrax wrote:

    I do realize, this is to clean out old incompatible mods.
    But maybe an alert and yes/no for that should be added.

    Good idea.

    AAAAAAAAAH!!!!

    I Almost lost them all again!!
    it scared the crap out of me!

    a fast-streaming list of
    Deleting …/data/globalmods/….
    Deleting …/data/globalmods/….
    Deleting …/data/globalmods/….
    Deleting …/data/globalmods/….

    i had to check 3 times to be sure they were intact..
    it’s a good thing i chose a dummy folder to install the patch to..

    I’m thinking right now.. that that previous idea has merit indeed!

    #35468

    jdog
    Participant

    Repeat after me…

    Always keep 3 copies of the files. )Working(
    Always keep 3 copies of the files. )Backup(
    Always keep 3 copies of the files. )Backup backup(

    #35469

    Thrax
    Participant

    @jdog wrote:

    Repeat after me…

    Always keep 3 copies of the files. )Working(
    Always keep 3 copies of the files. )Backup(
    Always keep 3 copies of the files. )Backup backup(

    Or i could just delete them all now… and save you the trouble
    of having to fix anything.

    Hands up who really wants me to flush all my mods!

    #35470

    cbx550f
    Participant

    I’m reminded of an old credo: “Those who don’t make backups have never (yet) had a hard disk fail.”

    Generally speaking, I think deleting the globalmods folder is likely a good idea, as it promotes the idea of “Joe User” not keeping old crap around that he doesn’t even know is there. However, a “Deleting globalmods directory” (I’ll get to the avatars in a sec) prompt might be a good idea. I hate to see too many of these “Do yuo really want to do this?” prompts, but I think that might be a time for one. (Might be a good idea to say “If unsure, say “Yes”, as people who don’t know what it means likely should just dump the old stuff)

    Also think of this: Adding prompts like this will delay release, not by alot, but it WILL delay it. This is not a problem I have, so I don’t know, but, is it important enough to warrant delaying a release next time for people to test the “release packages”? Maybe, maybe not, I just don’t know.

    Regarding avatars – I’ve been thinking about this lately, and although I’m not 100% sure and have not tested it, try putting your avatars in your .scorched3d/mods/*modname*/avatars/ directory. It should work, i think, and will not be deleted by the installer.

    #35471

    Thrax
    Participant

    @cbx550f wrote:

    Regarding avatars – I’ve been thinking about this lately, and although
    I’m not 100% sure and have not tested it, try putting your avatars in
    your .scorched3d/mods/*modname*/avatars/ directory. It should
    work, i think, and will not be deleted by the installer.

    Mods in those places are also flushed i believe.
    as there is more likely to be a mod there for the average user, than
    in globalmods.

    and if they aren’t, they are promptly moved to the /oldmods folder
    if the version letters don’t match.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.