This topic contains 8 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  imported_gcamp 11 years ago.

• Author

Willis
    Participant

Installing scorched under a distribution of Linux… Ubuntu (Debian). *WHICH I AM NOT EXPERIENCED IN!!!*

But recently i’ve come across some .. confusion.. with the data layout.

It’s possible that my installation is corrupted, but I cannot use the client-logging feature, Every time I attempt to APPLY changes, it reverts back to not being used.

Is this expected?

I also cannot locate the ids.xml file (or an equivlent). Even though the game knows and records ID information as though one exists. Under normal conditions where should it exist?

I’ve also found that the screen displays apear “flawed”. It’s all block like, without smoothness. (YET… ubuntu repository has a v39 that I tried .. and the buttons and menus apeared perfectly).

Again, 100% of this could be due to a faulty installation of the package, so if someone could help me try and locate the missing files…

Better off, if someone could help explain how to fully remove, and properly install the application.. that would be great.

Christian.ger
    Participant

I also cannot locate the ids.xml file (or an equivlent). Even though the game knows and records ID information as though one exists. Under normal conditions where should it exist?

The “ids.xml” is usually located in the s3d configuration directory of the user who is running the game. Eg: My user name (in linux) is “chk”, my home directory is “/home/chk/”, so the file is “/home/chk/.scorched3d/ids.xml”.

If the name of your user, who is running the game, is “willis”, the file should be “/home/willis/.scorched3d/ids.xml”. You have to know, that files and directories with a leading dot (like “.scorched3d”) are handled as hidden. Maybe you have to enable something like “show hidden files” in your graphical file browsing tool.

Irishbandit
    Participant

@willis wrote: