This topic contains 22 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 13 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

mstock
    Participant

Hey, I’m new to Scorched3D, but I player the original scorch on the 386s way back when. I love the game, and I love what you folks have done here!

I mention the mushroom clouds because I think I may have come upon a fast method to do fluid dynamics in 3D…a method that could be run at super-low resolution, but still create really nice-looking mushroom clouds in real-time—custom-simulated every time.

Here’s a link to a small (http://mark.technolope.org/vic2d/mov46s.mpg) 2D animation that I just made. The MPG file is 66kB and has 50 frames. It is an animation of a 2D thermal, the source of the mushroom cloud. Keep in mind that 3D thermals will rise higher and spread more narrowly than 2D thermals, and will look more realistic.

I suppose the fluid backend would simply serve to move the smoke-like particles until they die out. The same number of particles could be used, and the effect would look much more realistic.

I am hoping that the code can be upgraded to 3D relatively easily, and I will try to include support for uneven ground conditions. A mushroom cloud next to a cliff will turn toward the cliff and climb up it. It might also be nice to animate the shock wave emanating from the explosion, though I don’t know if that’d be possible.

Please tell me if this is something you’d be interested in seeing, and that I should pursue coding.

Cambo
    Participant

I’ve been working on a 3d model for the mushroom cloud, but I’ve been so busy lately (plus it doesn’t look good when it’s on the scale of the current one). Obviously you have some experience with fluid dynamics (peeked at your thesis…arg.. way over my head). Your welcome to try (the movie looks good).

When you’re done you can email it to gavin and he’ll look at merging it to the source code…. Just remember he’s on vacation for the week.

Cam

mstock
    Participant